Syllabus Summary

This syllabus covers the requirement of the National Curriculum Order 1995 for Information Technology at Key Stage 4 and the GCSE Subject Criteria for Information Technology. It provides opportunities for students to develop an awareness of the nature and importance of Information Technology in a rapidly changing society, and enables students to develop their application of knowledge, skills and understanding of Information Technology. The course is designed to be taught either across the curriculum or as a discrete subject. The syllabus offers a system of assessment for GCSE based on clear targets and a coherent set of criteria for rewarding positive achievement across grades G-A*. The assessment of candidates includes both practical capability using Information Technology and the knowledge and understanding which underpins this capability.

Scheme of Assessment


Foundation Tier G-C

Higher Tier D-A*

A* Candidates take Components 2,4 and 5
C Candidates take Components 1,3 and 5

Candidates are entered for either Foundation Tier or Higher Tier.

Syllabus Components

Component Name Duration Weighting
1 Paper 1 1 hour 20%
2 Paper 2 1 hour 15 minutes 20%
3 Paper3 1 hour 20%
4 Paper4 1 hour 15 minutes 20%
5 Coursework - 60%

Syllabus Content

The candidates must cover the following seven units of content:

1. Information Handling 4. Measuring 7. Modelling
2. Communicating 5. Control
3. System Design 6. Application and Effects

Any two of the first five units will be addressed through coursework. All seven units will be tested in the Papers.